Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

August 23, 2024

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Dear Secretary Granholm:

We write to introduce Pioneer Energy's application to the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Methane Emissions Reduction Program Oil and Gas Monitoring and Mitigation. Pioneer Energy's application would support their expansion of novel hydrocarbon processing technologies to reduce emissions from oil and gas operations. Reducing pollution and greenhouse gas emissions amidst our ongoing transition to clean energy is integral to both continuing to grow Colorado's economy and working to meet federal goals to cut emissions.

Pioneer Energy is well suited to address the DOE's goals of reducing pollution within underserved communities while investing in good jobs within the clean energy sector. Earlier this year, Pioneer Energy was awarded \$9,995,594 under the DOE's Methane Emissions Reduction Program and this application would capitalize on that awarded project.

Pioneer Energy's project will work to reduce pollution for surrounding communities designated as disadvantaged by the Council on Environmental Quality within the Executive Office of the President and under the Biden administration's Justice40 Initiative. Additionally, through partnerships with organizations like Autism Community in Action and Easterseals Colorado, Pioneer Energy will work to recruit and train Coloradans with autism and ADHD into trade jobs such as welders, electricians, fabricators, and wiring. This effort is highlighted in their community development plan and will support our diverse workforce and our green economy.

Thank you for giving your full and fair consideration in accordance with all applicable laws and regulations. Please notify our offices of any funds awarded.

Sincerely,

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

> Yadira Caraveo, MD Member of Congress

Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

Dana Dollate

Jan Hickorboyser

Diana DeGette Member of Congress Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Will F. But

John Hickenlooper United States Senator